New Year and Warren Oates

3 01 2008

So I hope everyone had a good relaxing holiday. Mine was overall pretty excellent, and really gave me a chance to actually do some reading. I realize every holiday that I never actually get to do reading unless over the holidays, and that is the main thing that I want to change for ’08. I devour books when I have the time, but my time-organization skills are in desperate need of an overhaul, so that’s my main goal for the 8.


I read Steve Martin’s new book “Born Standing Up,” which is a chronicle of his days as a stand up comedian, and is also very good if somewhat anti-climactic. I’ve always been a big Martin fan , (something inherited from my dad), and as someone who is pursuing a career in the arts, it was great to read an account of someone that worked their ass off pretty much all the time to get where they are now (excluding the Cheaper By the Dozen movies—-those aren’t real). The one thing that bummed me out in the book was that he never talks very much about his banjo playing. I assumed it would be in there, because he’s very good at it and so you know he must have spent a long time learning, but he only mentions it a few times and throws in some bluegrass references, so you know at least where he’s coming from. Overall though, big ups.

I also started reading “Gravity’s Rainbow” by Thomas Pynchon, and am loving it so far. I had been hearing Pynchon’s name a lot lately, and specifically in reference to one of my favorite authors Haruki Murakami, so I decided to tackle his epic in an effort to see what all the fuss was about, and force myself to read more during the non-holidays.

In terms of music, I’m working on several things in relation to Glows. The big one right now is expanding our song “Warren Oates” into a mini-suite that encompasses three of the actor Warren Oates’ most amazing films: Two-Lane Blacktop, Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia, and Cockfighter. That should be a lot of fun, and challenging. An MF Doom line comes to mind about jamming the triangle through the circle shape!

Also, this page will continue to grow, until it is used as the main source for info on Glows in the Dark. WordPress owns me…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

