6.19.08 The Boot (mp3s)!!!

28 06 2008

Here is our show from last week’s Norfolk stop on the Budget Tour. We brought back the Warren Oates Suite, and got into some really cool territory in I Crudeli. Enjoy…

6.19.08 The Boot, Norfolk, VA

Set 1

1) Up and Down

2) I Crudeli

3) Ipanema Weeknight

4) The Silence

5) Winterlight

6) Nero

Set 2

1) Warren Oates Suite


Hey, We’re on iTunes!

19 06 2008

Just wanted to let everyone know that on the week of our amazing “Budget” Tour ’08, our album has shown up on iTunes, and a few other places!  The one thing thats always been the main focus of this band from the beginning, is to create the PERFECT RINGTONE.  I know most thought we were into this whole “jazz” or “music” thing, but really it’s all about getting that special phone call from Comcast, and hearing the beautiful sounds of Glows wash through your ear as you calmly wait to see how much you should pay to turn your wonderful internet back on.

So yeah, you can get our album/ringtone collection from the sidebar through iTunes, AmazonMP3, or Napster.  Yeah…that Napster…I know.

Review on AllAboutJazz!

6 06 2008

We got a glowing (ouch) review that was published today on AllAboutJazz! Pretty good stuff, and we’re excited that more people will be exposed to the creative beast that is Richmond.  Much thanks to RVAJazz for making it happen!  I will say that for everyone checking us out, our CD can be purchased for $10 by emailing us here:


And that it will be on iTunes and Amazon (and more) in mid-July.

We are also working to make physical copies more available too…so don’t fret.

Our next show (on June 14) will be the official CD Release Party as part of the Thompson & Grace Balcony Concert Series—more info on the “Shows” page.


5.25.08 Commercial Taphouse mp3s!!!

29 05 2008

So here it is.  The complete show in mp3s.  We had a personnel change for this show, as Tom Skjei filled in for Cameron on bass duties.  I used to play with Tom all the time, and it was great to hear him getting back into playing and improvising.  We also resurrected a couple older tunes (Hi There, and Ipanema Weeknight), and we played the original Warren Oates as well.  Good times, good crowd, and of course not a lot of money, but we did manage to drink a lot of beer for free, so hopefully our livers got their money’s worth there.

We’ve also added a couple new shows including our CD Release Party, which will be the first in a series of concerts organized by Reggie Pace and Larri Branch that will take place on their balcony at the corner of Thompson and Grace!  It will be free and all ages, and there will be a lemonade stand, as the crowd gathers on the lawn below to check out some of Richmond’s Finest.  More info on their Facebook Group

5.25.08 Commercial Taphouse, RVA

Set 1

1) Hi There What Good???

2) Through a Glass Darkly

3) Ipanema Weeknight

4) Winterlight

5) GTO

6) Strawberry Letter 23

Set 2

1) Nero

2) The Silence

3) One Armed Swordsman

4) Up and Down

5) Warren Oates (original version)

and Tom’s last name (Skjei) means “Spoon” in Norwegian.  We got confirmation from Paal Nilssen-Love years ago!

The Boot (5.1.08) mp3s + MashupRVA

7 05 2008

Hey guys. Took a lot longer to get these up because I did an awesome thing and left my laptop charger at work over the weekend. Here is the entire Boot gig from May 1, 2008. Not too many people there, but it was a lot of fun. More people should go there because it rules all the time. You can look at your watch at any time whenever, and know that at that moment, The Boot is ruling. Reigning even.

5.1.08 The Boot, Norfolk, VA

Set 1

1) I Crudeli

2) Security Lock

3) The Silence

4) Five Deadly Venoms

5) Winterlight

6) One Armed Swordsman

Set 2

1) Nero

2) GTO

3) Turtle

4) Through a Glass Darkly

5) Up and Down

Also, we are taping a segment for MashupRVA‘s Sessions. More info on that soon!

Commercial Taphouse (4.27.08) mp3s!!!

30 04 2008

Thanks for everyone who came out. The new tune came out pretty good, and we also got the chance to stretch out and even change some of the old tunes. Turtle and The Silence turned out particularly good. Also, this is the first time that we took one piece of the Warren Oates Suite, and played it as a stand-alone song-GTO.

4.27.08 Commercial Taphouse, RVA

Set 1

1) Through a Glass Darkly

2) Winterlight

3) The Silence

4) Five Deadly Venoms

5) One Armed Swordsman

Set 2

1) Security Lock

2) Turtle

3) GTO

4) Nero

5) I Crudeli

Warren Oates Suite Online

29 01 2008

Thanks so much for everyone who came out last night to see us premiere the new work Warren Oates Suite. It ended up clocking in at 40 minutes, which is amazing considering it was one song. I’m excited because that was by far the longest thing I’d ever attempted to write, and it turned out well and it was super fun to play! There’s a lot more in the works, so maybe if I keep writing longer pieces, I can earn the nickname “The Ken Burns of Jazz.” Hopefully not, because that dude kind of looks like a serial killer. Anyway, here is set 1 of last night’s show Warren Oates in all it’s glory! Set 2 will follow shortly.

1.27.08 Commercial Taphouse RVA

Set 1

Warren Oates Suite